Consumed by Courage

This post has been sitting in the “waiting room” for a while. It was started as I was moving back for another semester of getting smarter. Then the actual “getting smarter” part happened, and the post didn’t get wrapped up or posted. So, here are my super quick thoughts on fear. If any of my sorority sisters (Alpha Delta Pi, waddup) are reading this, they’ve already heard my thoughts on it from this past week.
But for everyone else… Read on and fear no more. 🙂

Fear. A toxic emotion that has the tendency to completely overtake us. I’ve always known that I’m a worrier. Big things, little things… it doesn’t matter. Once fear comes into your head, it makes itself at home there. I’ve had to learn how to control my worries, anxiety, and stress and take each day as it comes. (Easier said that done, let me tell ya) But I don’t think I’ve ever realized just how much I let fear control me. Until recently, I would have told you I’m pretty fearless. But when I step back and think about it… I actually fear a lot of things. Fear is restricting. Fear is controlling. Fear is a prison. Fear may be able to lock you behind bars, but you’re the one with the key. God did not intend for us to live in fear. When Christ dwells within us, we are more free than we could ever imagine. If you want to be free… be. As I go into a new semester that’s going to be crazy busy, I feel fear rising up inside of me. But I’m looking it dead in the eyes and saying “No. Not this time. You will not control me.” What a burden-lifting and overwhelmingly joyful thing it could be to be fearless. …And I’m not talking about the “YOLO” kind. I’m talking about the type of fearless concerning things that matter. I’m talking about the type of fearless that goes far past “only living once”. I’m talking about the type of fearless that is found from having peace of mind and a calmness of heart. I’m talking about the type of fearless that lets you live fully present in the moment because you have a peace that surpasses all understanding. For me, fear is what holds me back and too often, I let it control me. We can bring absolutely anything to God, and he will take the weight off of our shoulders. I saw this quote recently and it expresses exactly how I feel after praying out of a worried, anxious, and fearful heart… “Courage is fear that’s said its prayers.” When we let go of being controlled by fear, we allow ourselves to be consumed by courage.

To you reading this… I don’t know what’s on your heart right now. I don’t know what you’re fearing. I don’t know the reason your heart is anxious. But what I do know is that God cares about your fears (big AND small) and you do not have to live in fear. I’m choosing to let my faith be bigger than my fear. I’m choosing to live my life in the peace only found from completely surrendering to God. I’m choosing to live courageously. Won’t you join me?

Fear will not control us.
Peace will rule in us.
Courage will overtake us.

Scripture is way more powerful than any words I could ever type, so I’m going to let them do work on their own. Meditate on these words. Find comfort and peace in these words. But more than anything find courage in these words!

Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.
Matthew 6:34

Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.
Joshua 1:9

For God did not give us a spirit of fear, but of power, love, & self-discipline.
2 Timothy 1:7

Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God; and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.
Philippians 4:6,7

Yet in all these things we are more than conquerors through Him who loved us.
Romans 8:37

courage

Leave a Reply

