I Married Up

It wouldn’t be fair to say I’ve never fallen in love. Sure, by this world’s standards, I haven’t. As a woman who has never had a “man friend” and still sits at the single/kid’s table (don’t think I’m upset about this, you’d probably have to drag me against my will to leave that beautiful card table), I’ve yet to fall in “love”. However, as I think about what love truly is, I most definitely have fallen in love. I’ve been madly in love for quite some time now. I fall in love everyday… over and over and over again. The kind of love we as little girls dream about… pure, dedicated, heroic, unconditional, wholehearted love. The kind of love where you are “it” for someone else. The kind of love where they are “it” for you.

 Jesus is “it” for me. He is everything I ever hope to find. He is everything I need. He is the love I’ve always wanted to fall into. I am head over heels in love with someone I don’t deserve. I was listening to the radio last week and the song “Don’t Deserve You” by Plumb came on. I was overcome by emotion. As I was taking in the words, my eyes were opened. I realized I fell in love a long time ago. As women, we each have our view of the “dream guy” we’d eventually like to marry, but in the back of our mind… we know we have to be realistic in knowing that no one is perfect. (Sorry for the stereotype, ladies) But as I was listening to this song, I realized that I don’t have to be “realistic” when it comes to Jesus. I have already hit the jackpot and scored the perfect man. (And I never had to lift a finger) There is no more perfect love than the love that flows out of the golden heart of Jesus. I am in the marriage of my dreams! …One in which I bring absolutely nothing to the table. As far as Christ is concerned, I “married up”.

For your Maker is your husband,
    the Lord of hosts is his name;
and the Holy One of Israel is your Redeemer,
    the God of the whole earth he is called.
Isaiah 54:5

Here are the lyrics that hit my heart in the car that day…

You’re the first face that I see
And the last thing I think about
You’re the reason that I’m alive
You’re what I can’t live without
You’re what I can’t live without
You never give up
When I’m falling apart
Your arms are always open wide
And you’re quick to forgive
When I make a mistake
You love me in the blink of an eye
I don’t deserve your love
But you give it to me anyway
Can’t get enough
You’re everything I need
And when I walk away
You take off running and come right after me
It’s what you do
And I don’t deserve you
You’re the light inside my eyes

You give me a reason to keep trying
You give me more than I could dream
And you bring me to my knees
You bring me to my knees
Your heart is gold and how am I the one
That you’ve chosen to love
I still can’t believe that you’re right next to me
After all that I’ve done
I don’t deserve your love

But you give it to me anyway
Can’t get enough
You’re everything I need
And when I walk away
You take off running and come right after me
It’s what you do
And I don’t deserve you
I don’t deserve a chance like this

I don’t deserve a love that gives me everything
You’re everything I want
I don’t deserve your love

But you give it to me anyway
Can’t get enough
You’re everything I need
And when I walk away
You take off running and come right after me
It’s what you do
And I don’t deserve you
And I don’t deserve you

You skimmed past the lyrics, didn’t you?… Stop. Scroll up. Read.

If I ever wanted to be “romanced”… this sounds pretty root tootin’ good to me. Jesus chases us, rescues us, forgives us, and adores us. What more could we ever want? Ladies… We have to stop filling our minds thinking about how wonderful our future marriages will be. (That goes for you too, fellas!) We have to stop filling our minds with the lie that satisfaction comes from being someone’s “wifey” or “hubby”. Please don’t mistake my point here and label me as an “insecure single who knocks relationships because she doesn’t have one for herself”. Because that’s not the girl writing this post. The girl writing this post is all for marriage. I am. I am all for relationships, and husbands, and families seeking, honoring, and fearing God. I’ve seen marriage done right many times, and it is truly a miraculous, beautiful thing. Marriage wasn’t only established by God, it was established for God. Being joined together with another believer in marriage is one of the most powerful pieces of ammunition a Christian soldier could have.
(“a threestrand cord is not quickly broken” -Ecclesiastes 4:12)
 Marriage can and does bring God an incredible amount of glory, so I am not knocking marriage. I’m simply proclaiming that Jesus, and the love he lavishes upon us, IS SUFFICIENT ENOUGH FOR ME.

Jesus can satisfy even the most empty, lonely, and thirsting souls. There is a hunger within each one of us that can only be satisfied by Jesus. Hear me when I say… by telling ourselves that earthly love is what will satisfy us, we’re actually saying to Jesus, “Your love is not sufficient.” Earthly marriages aren’t even guaranteed. I’m never guaranteed a husband. But what I am guaranteed, is being eternally linked to Christ. Satisfaction guaranteed. …if you accept His proposal.  Friends, OPEN YOUR EYES. The Son of Man is down on one knee before you, begging for you to say “YES!”. Better than any photographed Pinterest proposal you could ever throw my way. Yes, even better than that one 24 minute YouTube proposal. …It’s a close second. 😉 (…I kid.)

The Lord will guide you always; he will satisfy your needs in a sun-scorched land and will strengthen your frame. You will be like a well-watered garden, like a spring whose waters never fail.
Isaiah 58:11

For he satisfies the thirsty and fills the hungry with good things.
Psalm 107:9

You see, this is the greatness of a divine marriage such as the one we have with Jesus… it’s the best we could ever dream up. I don’t have to worry about being a “certain kind of attractive” to get that “certain kind of attractive”. I don’t have to worry about being or doing anything to “find the one”. I don’t have to worry about competing for the sweetest, hottest, wealthiest man in a sea of available and super gorgeous women. I don’t have to search, because I’ve already been found. Jesus’ love finds me. Jesus’ grace finds me. Me! Me, the little Nemo with the broken fin swimming amid all the other super beautiful, super talented, super charming “fish in the sea”. He didn’t choose me as His bride because of anything I was offering. No, it was out of His unmeasurable love and grace that He offered me a lifetime of heavenly marital bliss.

One day, maybe, I might find someone like this to take as an earthly husband. Someone whose love just finds me. …Right where I’m at. Right in my over worn sweatpants, disheveled messy bun, and my not so clear complexion. And it won’t be because I deserve for it to find me. No way, Jose… It will be because God is gracious enough to give me a broken, Jesus filled man who can remind me every day for the rest of my life, “We married up.” And if this man never comes… this man never comes. And that’s perfectly okay. Because my satisfaction does not, and will not, lie in being called “wifey” by a “hubby”. If I allow my eyes to wander in search of the perfect husband, I’m losing sight of the perfect marriage I’ve already signed off on.
I refuse to be blind to the love that’s already found me.
I refuse for His love to be insufficient for me.
He chose me, and I have never felt more undeserving.

But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.
Romans 5:8

“Your heart is gold and how am I the one
That you’ve chosen to love?”

jesus

Leave a Reply

