Dwell in the Land

YET ANOTHER POST THAT WAS NEVER PUBLISHED.
SO WHY AM I DECIDING TO PUBLISH IT NOW, ANYWAY?
BECAUSE SOMETIMES YOU RE-READ SOMETHING THAT YOU
WROTE FROM LAST SPRING… AND YOU REALIZE
1. HOW THANKFUL YOU ARE THAT GOD MAKES YOU
WAIT,
AND DWELL,
AND CULTIVATE.
2. HOW SOME LONGINGS CHANGE, SOME LONGINGS DISAPPEAR,
AND SOME WILL JUST ALWAYS BE THERE.
3. HOW BITTERSWEET THE THOUGHT OF GRADUATING IS.

SHORT AND TO THE POINT…
BUT MAYBE JUST MAYBE
YOU FIND YOURSELF RIGHT AT THIS MOMENT
AT THE SAME PLACE I WAS LAST SPRING…

 

Dwell in the land and cultivate faithfulness.”
Psalm 37:3

This past week I wanted so desperately to be back in my quaint little Mayberry of a hometown. …living. Yes, you heard me right. Living where most people leave uttering the words, “I’m never going back to that *donut* hole.”  I wanted to be surrounded by my family. Yes, surrounded by the folks most young people can’t wait to get away from. I wanted to be working. In my own classroom, with my own kiddos, from 7/8-ish in the morning… down to 3/4/5-ish in the evening. Yes, the very opposite of what any normal 19 year old would want when they’ve got a college town right at their fingertips. But this past week, it’s what I wanted.

I wasn’t content. I wasn’t dwelling. I wasn’t cultivating.
I was impatient. I was dreaming. I was questioning.

I wasn’t content with what God has given me right now.
I wasn’t dwelling where God had placed me right now.
I wasn’t cultivating faithfulness in His plans for me right now.

God is God everywhere. And no matter how much I feel a longing to be an old lady, in a comfy cottage, leading a quiet and simple life, God knows I can be stretched more than that. He has called me out upon the waters, the great unknown, and I must trust in him.

Untitled-2

Leave a Reply

